A recent study found most parents will admit to driving while distracted with their children in the car.
In Arkansas and across the country, parents are constantly juggling numerous demands on their time and attention. Unfortunately, these stresses and the need to have continuous connection with others have led to staggering statistics regarding parents' distracted driving habits.
Recently, a study conducted by researchers at the University of Michigan revealed that 90 percent of parents had engaged in one of 10 leading distracting behaviors while behind the wheel. The researchers questioned 570 parents, whose children -between the ages of one and 12 - received emergency medical treatment.
Of those surveyed, approximately two-thirds admitted that they had talked on their cellphones while on the road. In addition, about 15 percent of the respondents reported that they had sent text messages while driving with their youngster in the vehicle. As children are likely to emulate their parent's behavior, this study should give pause to parents who drive while distracted.
These statistics are particularly alarming when considering the toll distracted driving takes on our roads across the country. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 3,328 people were killed in collisions involving distracted drivers in the U.S. in 2012. The same year, around 421,000 people suffered personal injuries caused by distracted driving accidents.
Motorists in Arkansas would be wise to learn about the laws regarding distracted driving in the state.
All drivers in Arkansas are prohibited from texting while behind the wheel. Texting bans are common across the country because of the level of distraction sending or reading a text message entails. When a driver receives or sends a text message, the individual must take his or her hands off the wheel and eyes off the road. In addition, the individual is cognitively distracted, as he or she must think about the content of the message. Consequently, texting is a particularly hazardous form of driver distraction.
Motorists between the ages of 18 and 20 are prohibited from using handheld cellphones when behind the wheel in Arkansas. In addition, novice drivers and bus drivers are not allowed to use cellphones of any kind - even those with hands-free technology - when on the road.
If you or someone you love has been harmed in an auto collision involving a distracted driver, you may be able to obtain compensation to account for the damage done in the accident. Following a distracted driving crash, you should promptly contact a skilled personal injury attorney, who will fight to ensure your interests are protected.
Keywords: distracted driving, texting, accident